Visit to the Unimog Museum: NOW DOUBLE AS GOOD AS BEFORE

 

 

MORE EXHIBITION SPACE FOR UNIMOG HISTORY

The Unimog Museum in Gaggenau is a success story and has already welcomed over half a million guests since it opened in 2006. There has always been more to see and marvel at than there was room for. An extension has now been added to the existing building with a second exhibition hall plus an event room, for which around 4.3 million euros have been invested. The cost of the conversion has increased by about half a million euros compared to the original plan. The construction of the museum was financed by donations, financial subsidies from the city of Gaggenau and the district of Rastatt.

Das Unimog-Museum in Gaggenau: nun doppelt so gut wie zuvor

SPECIAL EXHIBITION SHOWS THE BEST FROM THE UNIMOG MUSEUM

The new hall construction is around ten meters high and extends the exhibition area to currently around 1,100 square meters. There is also additional space on a gallery. At the opening of the Unimog, almost all model series of the Unimog as well as the MB-trac tractor from various application areas are currently on display. The museum is showing exhibits from donations and private permanent loans.

Highlights of the exhibition include the prototype “U6” built in 1948, an original restored Boehringer Unimog with the number 70200/00221 from 1950, and a Unimog 416a with bus body.

Das Unimog-Museum in Gaggenau: nun doppelt so gut wie zuvor

In addition to the exhibits, the vehicles are now shown with new digital exhibit steles, which the Unimog Club Gaggenau has made available to the museum. Thus, visitors can click directly about the specific vehicle and the series, to photos and films with examples of use. Since two vehicles or units always share a stele, there are currently 30 of them in the museum. In addition, multimedia guides in several languages and a dedicated app are available to guide visitors through the exhibition.

Parallel to the opening of the new building, the existing exhibition area of the Unimog Museum was redesigned and equipped with new exhibits. In two cabs, visitors can get behind the wheel of the Unimog themselves and get a feel for what it was and is like to use a Unimog as a working machine.

Das Unimog-Museum in Gaggenau: nun doppelt so gut wie zuvor

 

PERMANENT EXHIBITION AROUND AUTOMOTIVE ENGINEERING IN GAGGENAU

Special emphasis is now also placed on the presentation of the “MB-trac” models, where five instead of the previous two of these exceptional vehicles are now on display. The highlight here is the MB-trac 1800 intercooler, the last “flagship” from Gaggenau production. The exhibition is supplemented by a permanent display of five classic vehicles around the automobile manufacturing in Gaggenau from 1894 to the present day.

Das Unimog-Museum in Gaggenau: nun doppelt so gut wie zuvor